days on pensive wing

it comes to me in my twilight concern
bemused mythologies
fending off carnivorous time
gilded ambiguities
like some kind of reminiscent apocalypse
beckoning me over the edge once again

I feel the flourish
of familiar fictitious heroes
swans of seduction
promising
lighter than air
precipiced pirouettes
fast on unfettered wing

but gravity makes
for a certain
dance partner

and now that evening
dims the horizon low
and my heart does faintly illume
I abjure to shadow

and so now come these days
on pensive wing

 

 

Written by Scott Schoffstall
© April 06, 2012
all rights reserved
Poetic Sojourn

Leave a Reply

